Maytime

It is the season for new arrivals and so far we are happy to welcome one new gosling, and  five baby chicks. Someone told me that we are 42 days behind in the growing season. I got freaked out thinking how am I going to produce enough food to keep us going, and then realised I could just mellow out and think I’m right on schedule with it all. Obviously the chickens and geese agree with my assessment, as we still have two geese nesting and due next week, and another three hens sitting on eggs. The grass here in Durrus is just beginning to grow, and while I put it down to being northfacing, it has been stunted further by the weather. 

 

Sunday in the sunshine was heavenly. It reminded me that things keep growing and will stay growing even if it is so slow we don’t notice the changes.

2 thoughts on “Maytime

Leave a Reply

